Housecall Pro in Canada (2026): What Canadian Shops Don't Get, and What Jobber Does Differently

Danilo Mališić

Danilo Mališić

Founder, Adeocode · Nov 3, 2026

Housecall Pro works in Canada, but six features are US only. Canadian shops lose bank payments, card readers, Wisetack financing, postcards, automated sales tax and Force fleet GPS. Prices are listed in USD, and Instapay caps at $10,000 a transaction in Canada against $50,000 in the US.

Jobber is a little better on payments. It takes cards in Canada at 2.9% + 30 cents and lets you connect your own processor for online payments. It has no Canadian bank payments either.

Below is the full US vs Canada matrix, what Jobber does differently, and how Canadian shops get paid without card fees. Then the limit nobody mentions: neither system’s API can record a payment you took somewhere else.

We build software for home service businesses on Housecall Pro, Jobber and ServiceTitan. We are not affiliated with any of them and earn nothing from any processor named here.

Housecall Pro: US vs Canada, feature by feature

Housecall Pro has no single article on what changes in Canada. Its help center search for “canada” turns up 10 scattered articles. We read them and put the answers in one place.

Last verified 2026-11-03, from Housecall Pro’s ACH FAQ, card reader FAQ, Wisetack overview, payroll page, postcard guide, automated sales tax, Force GPS setup, Instapay, pricing and tax rates.

Two rows need a note, because Housecall Pro doesn’t spell them out.

Payroll. The payroll page says “We can support any US-based Pro.” It doesn’t mention Canada at all. That reads as US only, but Housecall Pro does not say so. Ask before you count on it.

GST/HST. A help search for “GST” returns nothing. The tax article says only one tax rate can be applied to an invoice at a time. So in provinces with GST plus PST, our reading is that you combine them into one rate. You can’t show them as two lines.

What the gaps cost a Canadian shop

The matrix reads like a list of extras. Three rows hit the money directly.

No bank payments means every client pays by card. In the US, a shop can move clients to bank payments at 1%. In Canada that door is closed inside Housecall Pro. Cards run 2.59% to 3.49% at Housecall Pro’s published rates. Housecall Pro has no Canadian rate sheet, so we can’t confirm Canadian accounts pay the same percentages. Rates last verified 2026-11-03, from Housecall Pro’s payment processing options.

No card readers pushes cards to the pricier methods. The reader rate, 2.59%, is the cheapest card rate Housecall Pro has. Without a reader, a tech in the field keys the card in at 3.49%, or sends an invoice the client pays online at 2.99%. Whether Tap to Pay works in Canada is unconfirmed: the Tap to Pay article names no countries.

Recurring clients get hit hardest. A card on file is charged at 3.49%, the top rate. Cleaning, pool and lawn shops run most of their volume that way. We broke down the math in Housecall Pro credit card fees.

The subscription itself is the same price list on both sides of the border. Basic is $59 a month billed annually ($79 monthly), Essentials $149 ($189) and MAX $299 ($329). The pricing page says “All prices are in USD.” If you are billed in USD, your cost in Canadian dollars moves with the exchange rate. More on plans in our Housecall Pro pricing breakdown.

Last verified 2026-11-03, from Housecall Pro pricing.

One Canadian cleaning company we talked to this fall put the card problem plainly. Getting off card fees was worth “probably 800 bucks a month” to them.

What Jobber does differently for Canadian shops

Jobber sells to Canada at its USD prices and takes cards there at 2.9% + 30 cents. It also lets you bring your own processor for online payments. It still has no Canadian bank payments.

Jobber in CanadaWhat Jobber says
Plan pricesCore $49, Connect from $139, Grow from $199, Plus from $499 a month, billed monthly. “All prices in USD”, also on the /ca/ page
Billing in CADNot stated by Jobber
Jobber Payments in CanadaYes. Cards at 2.9% + 30 cents
Tap to Pay (2.7% + 30 cents)Canada not stated
Instant payouts+1%
Standard payoutsRolling 2 business days. The first payment has a 5-business-day authorization period
Bank (ACH) paymentsUS only. No EFT, PAD or Interac for Canadian accounts
Your own processorSquare, Stripe, Authorize.net or PayPal Express, one at a time, some plans, for client hub online payments
Payout currency for Canadian accountsNot stated by Jobber

Last verified 2026-11-03, from Jobber pricing, Jobber Canada pricing, Jobber Payments basics, bank payments, payment settings and payment integrations.

The own-processor option is the real difference. Jobber’s payment integrations article lists US, Canadian and Australian accounts, in USD, CAD and AUD. Housecall Pro says you can’t use its card button without its own processor.

Read the fine print, though. The third-party processor covers online payments through the client hub. Jobber lists saved cards, the card reader, refunds and tipping as Jobber Payments features. Whether staff can charge cards in the app through Square or Stripe is unconfirmed. Jobber’s help center ties in-app card taking to Jobber Payments.

For the full price list, see Jobber pricing. For the side-by-side, see Jobber vs Housecall Pro.

How Canadian shops get paid without card fees

With no bank option in either system, Canadian shops collect bank payments outside the software. There are two common routes: pre-authorized debit (PAD) and Interac e-Transfer for Business.

Pre-authorized debit (PAD)

PAD pulls money from the client’s bank account on a schedule. It suits recurring work. The rules come from Payments Canada Rule H1. The short version:

  • You need a signed agreement. It can be electronic, but the client’s identity has to be verified.
  • Per-job debits need consent every time. A one-time PAD needs a new agreement for the next one.
  • Confirmation goes out 10 days before the first debit. The client can waive that, and then it is due within 5 days after.
  • Changing amounts need 10 days’ notice. For variable amounts, you can both agree to cut or drop that notice. The clause must be easy to see.
  • Clients can claw back. A personal PAD can be reversed up to 90 days later if it broke the agreement. Business PADs get 10 business days.
  • Cancellation is fast. You stop new debits within 30 days of the client’s notice.

Rules last verified 2026-11-03, from Payments Canada Rule H1.

What PAD providers charge:

ProviderPAD price
Rotessa$25/month + $0.50 per transaction. $30 per NSF or stopped payment
GoCardless (Standard)0.75% + $0.40, capped at $3 per payment, plus GST/HST
Helcim0.5% + $0.25, capped at $6 (from Helcim’s own page, via search index)
Stripe1% + CA$0.40, capped at CA$5, plus CA$5 per failure or dispute
PlootoPAD included on plans from $9/month. Per-PAD fee not itemized

Last verified 2026-11-03, from Rotessa, GoCardless Canada, Helcim vs GoCardless, Stripe Canada and Plooto pricing pages. Rotessa does not state the currency on its pricing page.

On a hypothetical $150 visit, a card on file at 3.49% costs $5.24. GoCardless would take about $1.53. Rotessa takes 50 cents plus its share of the $25 monthly fee. At 300 debits a month, that comes to about 58 cents a visit.

Interac e-Transfer for Business

Interac e-Transfer for Business runs through your existing business bank account. It includes Request Money (with a QR code), Autodeposit and bulk receiving. Invoice and customer numbers can travel with the payment. Limits run up to $25,000 per transaction, depending on the bank and account.

Interac does not charge the client. The cost sits with your bank. At TD, a Request Money costs $1.50, charged when the client accepts it. TD’s Business Digital Account is $6 a month with 10 e-Transfers included. RBC’s Digital Choice Business account is also $6 a month with 10 outgoing e-Transfers, but RBC doesn’t publish its Request Money fees there.

Last verified 2026-11-03, from Interac e-Transfer for Business, Interac fees, TD’s business fee guide and RBC Digital Choice Business.

The catch is the paper trail. Small business notices come by email and online banking. We could not confirm a self-serve alert at any big-five bank that your software can listen to when an e-Transfer lands.

If you keep taking cards

Card fees in Canada have come down for small shops. Since October 19, 2024, a federal deal cut credit card interchange for businesses under $300,000 in yearly Visa sales and $175,000 in Mastercard. Ottawa says that is “up to 27 per cent” lower. Source: Department of Finance, verified 2026-11-03.

CFIB, a small-business lobby, reports that Visa raised its threshold to $750,000 from October 24, 2026. That is CFIB’s report. Visa and Mastercard have not confirmed it on their own pages that we could find. Ottawa expects processors to pass the savings on, and the industry Code of Conduct says they must tell you if they don’t. So ask.

You will also see Helcim offered as a Jobber or Housecall Pro add-on. It is a browser extension. Helcim says it is not a direct API connection and not endorsed by Jobber or Housecall Pro. It works on computers only, takes cards only (no PAD), and only charges full invoice amounts. Last verified 2026-11-03, from Helcim’s setup guide.

The honest limit: no API will mark the invoice paid

Here is the part most guides skip. Take a payment outside Housecall Pro or Jobber, and someone still has to mark the invoice paid. Neither official API can do it.

  • Housecall Pro. The public API is MAX only. It can read invoices and payments, and webhooks fire when an invoice is paid. We went through all 95 documented operations on 2026-11-03. None records a payment. Source: Housecall Pro API docs.
  • Jobber. The API has read access to payments and no write access we could find. A Jobber support reply on its community forum says invoices are meant to be marked paid inside Jobber. Zapier’s Jobber app has no action for it. Jobber’s developer site blocks automated checks, so we checked public schema copies and app scopes, not Jobber’s official docs. Sources: Jobber community thread, Zapier Jobber app, verified 2026-11-03.
  • QuickBooks won’t close the loop. In Housecall Pro, a Cash, Check or Other payment does not push to QuickBooks Online. In Jobber, marking an invoice paid in QuickBooks changes its status in Jobber, but the balance stays the same.

So a Canadian shop that moves clients to PAD or e-Transfer has three ways to run it.

1. Mark payments by hand. Pick “Other” in Housecall Pro, or Collect Payment in Jobber, for every deposit. It costs nothing but office time. At a few dozen payments a month that is fine. At a few hundred it becomes someone’s job.

2. Use a matcher. A small tool reads your open invoices and your deposits from the PAD provider or bank. It pairs them up and hands the office one list: these invoices are paid, these two are short. Marking still takes a click each, but nobody hunts through statements. Rotessa has an API with a transaction report you can poll. For e-Transfer you work from bank emails and online reports, since no incoming alert is documented.

3. Own the system. In your own software, the processor is whatever you pick. PAD, e-Transfer and cards sit side by side, and a payment closes its invoice when it lands. It is the biggest move. It pays off when the fees, the hand-marking and the features you’re missing all point the same way. See how we build payment connections for what that looks like.

Which way to go

  • Mostly one-off jobs, low volume: stay where you are. Send online invoices instead of keying cards, and mark the odd e-Transfer by hand.
  • Mostly recurring clients: price out PAD. The gap between 3.49% and a capped or flat debit fee is the biggest saving you have.
  • You need your own processor: Jobber allows it for online payments. Housecall Pro does not allow it for its card button.
  • Hundreds of outside payments a month: the hand-marking is now a cost. That is when a matcher or your own system starts to pay.

Want a second opinion on your mix? Book a 30-minute call. Bring a month of your payments report and we’ll tell you which move pays, including “none of them”.

Housecall Pro and Jobber are trademarks of their owners. Adeocode is not affiliated with either.

For the per-visit math on every Canadian payment option, see PAD vs e-transfer vs credit card.

Danilo Mališić, founder of Adeocode

Talk to the founder

Bring us the workflow that doesn't fit

Every discovery call is with Dan, who wrote this and builds these systems. He stays your contact through the whole engagement: no sales team, no handoffs. If the tools you already pay for cover it, he'll tell you that too, and the call costs nothing.

Yes. Its help center refers to Canadian Pros, but several features are US only. As of November 3, 2026, Canadian shops lose bank (ACH) payments, card readers, Wisetack financing, automated sales tax and Force fleet GPS. Postcards to addresses outside the US are not sent. Instapay is capped at $10,000 per transaction in Canada, against $50,000 in the US.

Housecall Pro does not say. Its pricing page states that all prices are in USD and mentions no CAD option. No help article covers currency for Canadian accounts. Ask in writing before you sign, and ask which currency your card payouts settle in.

Jobber shows the same prices on its Canadian pricing page as on its US one, with the line 'All prices in USD'. As of November 3, 2026, that is Core at $49 a month, Connect from $139, Grow from $199 and Plus from $499, billed monthly. Whether a Canadian account can be billed in CAD is not stated by Jobber.

No. Both limit bank (ACH) payments to US businesses. Neither offers pre-authorized debit (PAD) or Interac e-Transfer inside the software for Canadian accounts. Canadian shops that want bank payments collect them through a PAD provider or their bank, then mark each invoice paid by hand.

Not through either official API. Housecall Pro's public API can read invoices and payments but has no way to record a payment. We found no payment write access in Jobber's API either. So you have three options. Mark invoices paid by hand. Use a tool that matches deposits to invoices and gives your office a list. Or own a system where payments close invoices on their own.

On payments, Jobber has one clear edge: you can connect your own processor (Square, Stripe, Authorize.net or PayPal Express) for online client hub payments on some plans. Housecall Pro does not allow that for its card button. Housecall Pro also turns off more features in Canada. Neither gives Canadian shops bank payments, and neither API can record a payment taken elsewhere.

You may like these

PAD vs Interac e-Transfer vs Credit Card: What Getting Paid Costs a Canadian Home Service Business (2026)

PAD vs Interac e-Transfer vs Credit Card: What Getting Paid Costs a Canadian Home Service Business (2026)

Nov 3, 2026

On 300 visits a month at $140, cards cost about $1,300 to $1,470 a month. Pre-authorized debit (PAD) costs $175 to $540. Interac e-Transfer at TD runs about $450. PAD is the cheapest way to get paid by recurring clients in Canada, but neither Housecall Pro nor Jobber can take it, and neither API can mark an outside payment paid. Here is the math, the PAD rules, and how shops handle the matching.

Read more
Housecall Pro Credit Card Fees (2026): What You Pay, and Whether You Can Use Your Own Processor

Housecall Pro Credit Card Fees (2026): What You Pay, and Whether You Can Use Your Own Processor

Nov 3, 2026

Housecall Pro charges 2.59% on tapped or swiped cards, 2.99% when a customer pays an invoice online, and 3.49% on keyed-in cards, cards on file, Amex and commercial cards. Bank payments are 1% and US only. You can't plug your own processor into Housecall Pro's card button, and its API can't mark an invoice paid. Here is the real math, and the four ways shops get the number down.

Read more
Jobber Pricing (2026): What It Really Costs Your Business

Jobber Pricing (2026): What It Really Costs Your Business

Jul 25, 2026

Jobber costs $21 to $371 per month billed annually, or $49 to $699 month-to-month, across four plans that are now priced by team size: Core (1 user), Connect (1-15 users), Grow (1-15 users), and Plus (5-15 users). Every extra user is $29/mo on any plan, and API access for custom integrations is gated to the Plus plan. Add-ons like the Marketing Suite ($79/mo) and card processing at 2.9% + 30¢ sit on top of the subscription. For crews under 15 people it's one of the cheapest full-featured field service platforms. The real costs show up in the add-on stack and the integration gate, not the sticker.

Read more
Jobber vs HouseCall Pro 2026: An Unaffiliated Comparison

Jobber vs HouseCall Pro 2026: An Unaffiliated Comparison

Jul 25, 2026

Jobber is cheaper at every comparable team size in 2026, at $21/mo vs $59/mo for one user on annual billing, and its mobile app rates higher on Android. HouseCall Pro wins on consumer-facing booking and automated marketing; its old API-access price advantage has narrowed to near parity ($299/mo MAX vs Jobber Plus from $280/mo). Pricing verified July 25, 2026.

Read more